Relays and Safaris

21 Jun

This past weekend was quite full of adventure. Friday night was the Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, an event that I was on the committee for for the second year. It’s a really great event that occurs overnight and asks team members to walk around a track all night long. This all night walk symbolizes the fight against cancer; as the sun goes down it seems like a long struggle, the middle of the night is the hardest part as one must fight against their exhaustion but as the sun begins to rise hope is signified and it’s like the light at the end of a long and difficult struggle. This year this event meant even more to me as last November my grandfather died from Pancreatic cancer.

I would have to say that the highlight of the event for me this year was the tent that my team and I constructed from very limited materials. Roy’s family had graciously lent me their tent to use for the night but I was warned, the tent had been sitting in their garage for the last 20 years. I took this warning with a grain of salt, confident that it wouldn’t be too bad. Well my friends, I was wrong. The tent smelled horribly like mildew. So me and my team, being the creative girls we are, simply took the poles, duct taped them together and draped our sheets over top. All I can say is luckily it didn’t rain that night! And believe it or not, it was quite cozy and fit all four of us perfectly!

So after the almost all nighter on Friday (I did manage to sleep a bit) I spent all of Saturday being a big lazy bum. Sunday though, it was back to the adventures! I finally went to the African Lion Safari, something that I had been dying to do ever since I moved here and heard about it. And let me tell you, it did not dissapoint! I couldn’t believe how close up we got to all of the animals (from the car of course). There were cheetahs coming right to our car, giraffes crossing the street right and front of us and best of all, monkeys climbing all over the car. Unfortunately they took off Roy’s sister’s car mirror and started eating it but you can’t say they don’t warn you, there are disclaimers everywhere as you drive in.

So that was my weekend full of adventure, if only all weekends could be so fun! Tomorrow is Wednesday, almost half way done the week and then another weekend. I look forward to it already!

Leave a Reply

