The Canucks Riot and Re-thinking Book Review Wednesdays

17 Jun

So as you have seen, I missed another BRW. I instead was glued to my tv watching the Canucks lose the Stanley Cup by a landslide. Although I was dissapointed that the Canadian team didn’t win, I wasn’t devastated as the Canucks aren’t one of the teams I’m normally a fan of. Now, if it was next year and the Jets were playing then that would be a different story! With that being said, I’m sure most people have heard about the riots that erupted in Vancouver following the game. In my opinion, the reaction of the Canuck fans is humiliating to us as Canadians and makes me question what the meaning of being a fan is.

 I competely understand being passionate about a sport but at the end of the day, people play these games because they enjoy it, it’s supposed to be fun. Yes, we all get emotionally invested in our teams on some level but the way the Vancouver vans reacted was completely shameful. By the end of the week, would any of the fans lives had changed because the Canucks had lost? Most likely, no. But now these people’s lives may change because they will now have a criminal record and because they are publicly being made to look like idiots. And all of this is following the glory that the city had previously embodied during the Olympics which is truly the most dissapointing of all.

 Now, back to what I was saying about Book Review Wednesdays. I have begun to re-think this a little which is okay because this blog is still a baby and I’m learning as I go along! Doing a book review every week is just too much for me so I’ve decided that I’m only going to have them when I’ve recently finished a book or when I think it is relevent to something else that I’m talking about. They will still occur on Wednesdays, just not EVERY Wednesday. Maybe only a couple a month…

Anyways, it’s Friday so I’d like to wish everyone a great weekend! Tonight I am participating and volunteering at the Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay for Life. I have been on the committee to help organize this for the past 2 years and I’m really looking forward to this event. I’ll let you all know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

